Kombucha is a fermented drink with a zing.  It is a wonderful way to support gastrointestinal health.  Kelly is one of our Home Delivery Site Hosts, and has become a friend over the last few months (though we have yet to meet in person.)  She has introduced us to kombucha, and has shared her brew with us.  From the information she provided for this post, I intend to begin making my own.  Here is a guest post from Kelly regarding her experience with kombucha.  I hope you enjoy it.

Terra

So…I did the cancer thing a couple years ago…double mastectomy and 8 rounds of chemo. I was done with the bad stuff and ready to start over with the new me. Ready for reconstruction surgery…(a sort of a trophy for my hard work!) all I needed was a quick blood test to make sure my counts were good. I got a call from the plastic surgeon…had to postpone surgery at least a month and we’d check again. I was heart broken.

I decided I would eat/drink whatever it took to raise my counts. As that commercial used to say I read to the end of the internet. While I was reading I kept coming across the Weston A. Price foundation and Nourishing Traditions…an organization that goes WAY back in time and teaches how ancients and native societies from around the world prepared food for a healthier way of life. They place a lot of emphasis on raw, fermented and probiotic food sources. One of which is Kombucha.

Kombucha…a traditional, probiotic, and enzyme rich beverage consumed for centuries in China and Russia. Kombucha is helpful in cleansing and detoxifying the liver and other organs. So off I went…found it at the local health food store and started drinking. It was an odd taste at first but I found that the more I drank the more I wanted almost like my body was craving it and at 3.50 a bottle it was an expensive craving!

SCOBY

Again I went back to the internet and decided I’d start making my own. Kombucha Kamp became my obsession…followed the blogs, read all the info, and decided to take the plunge. I was going to grow a Kombucha SCOBY…Symbiotic Culture of Bacteria and Yeast. So it came in the mail, craziest thing I’ve ever seen. Knowing that it was a living culture I decided to give it a name. I call her Terra Madre. Terra is a continuous brewing system that keeps my Kombucha on tap at all times…there is also a single brew method. I set it up, tried very hard not to touch it for 7 days as instructed in the Kombucha Recipe, and then there it was…my first SCOBY baby was born. When it’s finished I am even able to bottle some of it with flavors like cranberry and blueberry. It’s easy and fun!

I had that surgery one month later and my counts remained normal from that point on. I don’t know if it was just the Kombucha that did the trick but I do know that when I go a day or two with out it my body let’s me know. If you’re looking to enhance your organic lifestyle I recommend you try a bottle too!

 

